Cox Enterprises Software Engineer With Cognitive Dysfunction Wins MetLife Long Term Disability Appeal After Short-Term Benefits Were Terminated

Cox Software Engineer with Chronic Fatigue Wins MetLife STD Appeal

MetLife approved our client’s short-term disability benefits, then cut her off. Weeks later, the insurer sent a letter declaring her disability over as of a date already behind her. She was a Software Engineer at Cox Enterprises in North Carolina, disabled by cognitive dysfunction, chronic fatigue, and non-restorative sleep, with a growing list of serious medical complications on top.

We have watched insurers approve a claim, change their minds, and leave the claimant to prove a negative more times than we can count. We know where those decisions break. Attorney Cesar Gavidia appealed, and MetLife awarded her long-term disability benefits.

How this claim was won matters to anyone whose benefits were paid and then taken away, and to anyone told that a “normal” test proves they can work. If MetLife or any other disability insurance company has terminated or denied your benefits, speak with one of our disability insurance lawyers. We represent claimants nationwide, and there is no fee unless your benefits are paid.

Schedule a Free Consultation

Our Lawyers Respond Today

By submitting this form you agree to receive SMS from Dell Disability Lawyers. Carrier and Data rates may apply. Message frequency may vary. Reply STOP at any time to end messaging or Reply HELP for more information.

Table Of Contents

Why This Case Matters for Every MetLife Claimant

An insurer that approves benefits and then cuts them off should have to show what changed. MetLife accepted that our client was disabled and paid her short-term disability benefits. Then it terminated them without identifying a single sign of improvement, and our appeal made that gap the centerpiece of the case. If MetLife terminated your short-term disability benefits after approving them, start with the simplest question: what is different now?

Cognitive claims are won with job-specific limits, not a list of diagnoses. Our client’s primary care physician did not stop at naming her conditions. He documented that she could not sustain attention for even two hours at a stretch and explained what that meant for her pace, her breaks, and her attendance. In cognitive limitations disability insurance claims, where routine testing often looks normal, that functional detail carries the case.

A normal test rules out one diagnosis, not your disability. MetLife leaned on a home sleep study that found no obstructive sleep apnea. That test answered one narrow question, and a sleep specialist later diagnosed a different sleep disorder entirely. When a denial rests on “normal” or “unremarkable” results, ask what the test was designed to detect, and keep pursuing specialist care for the symptoms nobody has explained.

Your medical record does not stop at the cutoff date, so keep building it. The most powerful evidence in this appeal was created months after MetLife ended benefits: an emergency room visit, major surgery, two hospital stays, and an updated statement from her treating physician. Consistent treatment is one of the most important steps to protect a MetLife disability insurance claim, and everything that treatment produces belongs in your appeal.

A short-term disability cutoff is a direct threat to your long-term disability claim. Claimants often ask what happens to long-term disability when short-term disability is terminated. Under our client’s plan, long-term benefits could not start until she had been disabled for at least as long as the short-term benefit period, so the cutoff put both claims at risk. Appeal a short-term disability termination as if your long-term benefits depend on it, because they may.

A Software Engineer Who Could No Longer Sustain Focus

Our client worked as a Software Engineer II for Cox Enterprises. As the appeal laid out, the job demanded sustained cognitive engagement, precision, and high-level analytical functioning. Her short-term disability plan asked whether she could perform the material duties of her occupation with reasonable continuity, meaning reliably and consistently, day after day. That is an own-occupation standard: it measures disability against the claimant’s own job, not any job in the economy.

We represent many software developers in disability insurance claims, and their cases share a hard truth: the work happens almost entirely inside the mind. When concentration fails, there is no lighter version of the job to fall back on.

Our client’s concentration began failing early in the year and kept getting worse despite ongoing medical care. Her family watched the decline happen. By the time she stopped working, her treating physicians had documented:

  • Chronic fatigue (ICD-10 R53.82)
  • Uncontrolled daytime sleepiness
  • Chronic insomnia and non-restorative sleep, meaning she woke up as exhausted as when she went to bed
  • Difficulty concentrating and focusing, with slowed mental processing
  • Increased errors at work
  • Headaches, muscle pain, and joint pain

Her primary care physician took her out of work and kept her out, citing cognitive dysfunction and daytime sleepiness. Cognitive dysfunction is a decline in mental abilities such as attention, concentration, processing speed, and problem-solving, and patients often describe it as brain fog. Her psychiatrist recorded that she was on medical leave because of cognitive difficulties, decreased concentration, and increased errors.

The strain showed in her mental health as well. The PHQ-9 and GAD-7 are short questionnaires physicians use to measure the severity of depression and anxiety symptoms. Within three months, her depression score climbed into the moderate to severe range and her anxiety score tripled, reaching the severe range. She began psychiatric treatment and therapy, and her medications were adjusted repeatedly.

software engineer with cognitive dysfunction denied disability by Metlife

MetLife Approves Short-Term Disability, Then Pulls the Rug Out

Short-term disability insurance replaces part of an employee’s income during the first months of a disability, and long-term disability insurance takes over if the disability continues. Metropolitan Life Insurance Company (MetLife) handled her claim, and at first it got the short-term decision right. It approved benefits and paid them through late summer.

Then MetLife changed course. Weeks after the date it chose as the end of her disability, it issued a decision terminating her benefits retroactively to that date. Attorney Cesar Gavidia later described the decision for what it was: a termination resting on the “misinformed, unfounded, and false basis that she was no longer disabled.”

MetLife built the termination on three things:

  • File reviews by its own internal consultants
  • A negative home sleep study that found no obstructive sleep apnea, a breathing disorder in which the airway repeatedly collapses during sleep
  • Diagnostic testing it called “unremarkable”

A file review, also called a paper review, is a medical opinion an insurer obtains from a consultant who reads the claimant’s records without ever examining the claimant. The appeal called MetLife’s reviews “incomplete and outcome-oriented file reviews.” When a desk opinion outweighs the physicians actually treating the patient, that description fits.

The home sleep study carried its own irony. She had been referred to sleep medicine for testing, but her health insurance refused to cover a study in a sleep lab, so she completed a more limited home test instead. The insurer then held up that limited test as proof nothing was wrong. That is the difference between a screening test and reality.

How We Built the Appeal

Under ERISA, the Employee Retirement Income Security Act of 1974, an employer-sponsored disability insurance plan must give a claimant a full and fair review of any denial. That review is the administrative appeal: an internal appeal to the insurer that usually must be completed before a claimant can file a lawsuit.

The record built during that appeal is usually the only evidence a court will consider later, which is why handling an ERISA disability insurance denial starts with treating the appeal as the whole case. Attorney Gavidia built that record around one theme: our client had not improved. She had gotten worse.

The appeal asked MetLife to overturn the termination, reinstate her short-term disability benefits with all past-due benefits and interest, and give her long-term disability claim the full and fair consideration it was owed. It also made clear that if MetLife refused, she would pursue every legal remedy available.

A Negative Sleep Study Answered the Wrong Question

The insurer treated a negative test for sleep apnea as proof that her sleep was fine. The appeal rejected that leap directly: “The absence of obstructive sleep apnea does not negate the presence of other serious sleep disorders, nor does it diminish the functional impact of chronic fatigue, insomnia, and non-restorative sleep.”

A sleep specialist then diagnosed periodic limb movement disorder (ICD-10 G47.61). Periodic limb movement disorder, or PLMD, is a sleep disorder in which repetitive limb movements during sleep disrupt rest, and it is diagnosed through an overnight sleep study called polysomnography combined with a sleep complaint. In plain terms, the body keeps interrupting its own sleep. As the appeal explained, PLMD results in persistent fatigue, impaired cognition, and reduced functional capacity.

That diagnosis did more than add a label. It gave a medical explanation for the exhaustion and cognitive decline MetLife had dismissed, and it undercut the insurer’s suggestion that the workup had come up empty. We see the same pattern in insomnia disability insurance claims: a narrow negative test gets treated as the final word on a much larger problem.

Her Health Got Worse After MetLife Cut Her Off

The appeal’s second pillar was the medical record from the months after the termination. It showed “not improvement, but clear and objective deterioration.” Her fatigue, poor concentration, and non-restorative sleep persisted through medication changes, and her medical picture grew far more serious:

  • Her familial adenomatous polyposis progressed. Familial adenomatous polyposis is an inherited condition that causes multiple precancerous growths, called polyps. Hers included an adenoma, one of these growths, in the duodenum, the first section of the small intestine, and it required surgery.
  • An emergency room visit. Abdominal pain and dehydration sent her to the emergency department, where she was diagnosed with mesenteric panniculitis, an inflammation of the fatty tissue that supports the intestines. Her scheduled surgery was canceled over concern for possible pancreatitis, meaning her pancreas might also be inflamed.
  • A Whipple procedure. Surgeons then performed a pancreaticoduodenectomy, a major operation that removes the head of the pancreas, part of the small intestine, the gallbladder, and the bile duct.
  • Acute kidney injury (ICD-10 N17.9) and infection. Days after discharge, a sudden decline in kidney function sent her back to the hospital, where she was readmitted and started on intravenous antibiotics.
  • Ongoing psychiatric care. Treatment for anxiety and depression continued alongside everything else.

As attorney Gavidia wrote, “This escalating course of care is irreconcilable with any conclusion that her condition had stabilized or improved.” Claimants who are recovering do not spend the months after a benefit termination in emergency rooms and operating rooms.

Her Doctor Put Her Limits in Writing

An attending physician statement is a form in which a treating doctor reports a patient’s diagnoses, restrictions, and limitations directly to the disability insurance company. Her primary care physician completed one for the appeal, and it went far beyond diagnoses. He documented that she:

  • Cannot sustain attention for even two-hour intervals
  • Would work at reduced pace and productivity
  • Would need unscheduled breaks beyond what an employer tolerates
  • Would miss work when her symptoms flare
  • Has significant limits in concentration, executive functioning (planning, organizing, and managing multi-step work), and complex problem-solving

He also confirmed that her chronic fatigue, insomnia, and non-restorative sleep persisted despite treatment, that she remained unable to perform her occupation past the date MetLife picked, and that she could not sustain full-time competitive employment. Put those limits next to a software engineering job and the conclusion writes itself: a developer who cannot focus for two hours cannot do the work.

The physician statement did not stand alone. Behavioral health providers documented ongoing cognitive and psychological impairment, sleep medicine confirmed persistent sleep disruption and a clinical diagnosis, and emergency and specialty providers documented escalating medical conditions. In the appeal’s words, “This convergence of evidence across multiple disciplines leaves no legitimate basis to dispute the severity or functional impact” of her impairments.

Holding MetLife to Its Own Approval

Can MetLife Terminate Benefits Without Evidence of Improvement?

Not without a reason, and MetLife had none. The evidence showed deterioration, and the legal argument made MetLife answer for it. MetLife had already accepted that she was disabled, so reversing that finding required evidence that something had changed. As attorney Gavidia wrote, “MetLife has failed to identify any evidence of improvement sufficient to justify termination of benefits following its prior approval.”

The appeal relied on Saffon v. Wells Fargo & Co. Long Term Disability Plan, a federal appeals court decision that also involved MetLife. The court reasoned that MetLife’s earlier payments suggested the claimant was already disabled, and that to find her no longer disabled, one would expect the medical evidence to show improvement. The same logic applied here, and our client’s record showed none.

No New Reviews Without a Chance to Respond

The appeal also invoked the protections federal law builds into ERISA disability insurance claim reviews. The Department of Labor’s claims procedure regulation requires a plan to give the claimant any new or additional evidence or rationale before deciding the appeal, with time to respond. Attorney Gavidia formally requested exactly that in writing: copies of every medical or vocational report MetLife or its vendors generated, so her treating physicians could answer them before any final decision.

He also asked MetLife to coordinate any contact with her treating providers through our office. That request is not a formality. An insurer can turn a doctor’s rushed answer to a leading question into a reason to deny, which is why your doctor should never talk to the disability insurance company without your permission.

MetLife Approves Long-Term Disability Benefits

After the appeal, MetLife approved our client’s long-term disability claim. The decision was unambiguous: “We determined that you’re Disabled.”

An elimination period is the waiting period between the start of a disability and the date long-term disability benefits become payable. MetLife’s approval explained that her plan “requires an elimination period of the greater of the Short Term Disability maximum benefit period and 180 days.” MetLife measured that waiting period from her last day of work, which means it ran straight through the months the insurer had once claimed she could work.

The approval provides:

  • Long-term disability benefits of 60% of her pre-disability earnings
  • Seven months of back benefits in a single first payment of more than $37,000
  • Monthly benefits from that point forward

That result did not happen by accident. It happened because the appeal left MetLife no evidence to stand on.

The approval came with a requirement every claimant should understand. The plan requires her to apply for Social Security Disability Insurance (SSDI), and it allows the insurer to reduce her monthly benefit by an estimated SSDI amount if she does not pursue it. Winning long-term disability benefits is not the end of the work; managing offsets like this one is part of protecting them.

A Pattern We Have Beaten Before

This is not the first time we have made MetLife answer for ending benefits it had already approved. We fought the same battle for a Salesforce software engineer whose MetLife benefits were cut off after a paper review, a termination we also reversed on appeal.

We have also seen a MetLife short-term disability decision spill into the long-term claim. MetLife denied both stages of the claim for an ADP payroll director with chronic migraines and cognitive decline, a long-term disability denial we also won on appeal.

Speak With One of Our Lawyers Today

Attorney Gavidia’s appeal closed with a line that applies far beyond one claim: “When the evidence is evaluated fairly and in its entirety, the conclusion is inescapable.”

If MetLife or any other disability insurance company has cut off your short-term disability benefits, denied your long-term disability claim, or told you that normal test results mean you can work, do not wait. ERISA rules require disability insurance plans to give you at least 180 days to appeal a denial, and the record you build in that window is usually the record a federal judge will review if you ever have to sue.

Since 1979, our firm has helped tens of thousands of claimants and collected more than $2 billion in disability insurance benefits. We represent clients nationwide, and there is no fee unless your benefits are paid. Contact our office for a free consultation with one of our long-term disability lawyers.