Aetna fails to review Bank Of America employee’s ERISA disability benefit appeal timely resulting in lawsuit by an Illinois disability lawyer

Brian Woulfe of northern Illinois worked as a mortgage loan officer for Bank of America until he was no longer able to work with reasonable continuity because of complications that arose from being treated for non-Hodgkin’s lymphoma.

The exact nature of Mr. Woulfe’s non-Hodgkin’s lymphoma isn’t specifically stated within the civil complaint he and his disability attorney filed against Aetna Life Insurance Company (Aetna) and Bank of America Group Benefits Program. However, people suffering from non-Hodgkin’s lymphoma usually present symptoms such as:

Non-Hodgkin’s lymphoma occurs when a certain type of blood cell known as a lymphocyte does not go through a normal life cycle by dying when new lymphocytes are created. Instead, these abnormal lymphocytes continue to divide, grow, and spread throughout your lymph nodes and possibly into other organs of your body.

Depending upon the severity of a person’s non-Hodgkin’s lymphoma, chemotherapy or radiation therapy may be necessary. These aggressive forms of treatment can take quite a physical toll on a person’s body.

Mr. Woulfe’s last day of being able to work was July 2, 2009. Seven days later, Mr. Woulfe filed for short-term disability benefits with Aetna. Aetna approved his short-term disability benefits claim and paid him through December 30, 2009.

Aetna notified Mr. Woulfe on April 23, 2010 that the period for receiving short-term benefits has expired and they would evaluate his claim for long-term disability benefit payments. Aetna informed Mr. Woulfe on June 16, 2010 that his claim for long-term disability benefits had been denied effective December 31, 2009.

Since Mr. Woulfe submitted what seemed to be more than adequate documentation that would substantiate a long-term disability benefit claim that would precipitate an appeal, Mr. Wolf retained a disability insurance lawyer to help guide him through the appeals process. Therefore, on November 29, 2010, Mr. Woulfe appealed Aetna’s decision to deny long-term disability benefit payments to him.

Aetna responded to Mr. Woulfe’s appeal stating they would get back to him within 45 days from the day they received Mr. Woulfe’s appeal – December 1, 2010. That would mean Aetna had until approximately January 15, 2011 to respond to Mr. Woulfe’s appeal. However, Aetna requested an additional 45 days since special circumstances warranted more time for them to deliberate Mr. Woulfe’s appeal. That meant Aetna should have a decision made regarding Mr. Woulfe’s appeal for long-term disability benefit payments by no later than March 1, 2011.

Aetna’s appeal team informed Mr. Woulfe on January 21, 2011 that Aetna’s original decision to deny him long-term disability benefit payments was overturned. The matter now rested with Aetna’s operations team for them to review Mr. Woulfe’s claim for disability benefits.

Apparently, Aetna’s operations team received the appeal team’s decision to overturn Aetna’s original decision to deny Mr. Woulfe’s long-term disability benefit claim on February 4, 2011. Aetna’s operations team told Mr. Woulfe they would have a decision made within 30 days. However, as of March 4, 2011 Aetna had not yet made a decision with respect to Mr. Woulfe’s long-term disability benefit claim. In fact, they notified Mr. Woulfe that their decision is forthcoming and would be issued “no later than April 4, 2011.”

Mr. Woulfe’s disability lawyer informed Aetna on March 14, 2011 that his client had been approved by the Social Security Administration to receive Social Security Disability Income benefit payments dating back to July, 2009. Mr. Woulfe’s disability lawyer also reminded Aetna of their intent to render a decision within 90 days of receiving Mr. Woulfe’s appeal. Acting on Mr. Woulfe’s behalf, his disability lawyer also demanded a check from Aetna that would cover “all accrued LTD benefits was expected by the end of the week.”

Aetna responded on April 4, 2011 saying they had not yet reached a decision, but would notify Mr. Woulfe of decision regarding his appeal no later than May 1, 2011.

In response to Aetna’s apparent delay tactics, Mr. Woulfe’s disability attorney informed Aetna they had one more week as of April 8, 2011 to come up with a decision regarding his clients long-term disability benefit claim before his client would file a lawsuit against them.

Being that there was no further communication from Aetna, Mr. Woulfe and his Illinois disability lawyer filed an ERISA lawsuit in United States District Court for the Northern District of Illinois in the Eastern Division for Aetna’s denial of long-term disability benefit payments to Mr. Woulfe.

Mr. Woulfe is seeking payment for:

DISABILITY INSURANCE COMPANY INFORMATION
Videos, Questions, Resolved Cases, Lawsuit Summaries & Company Reviews

disability insurance companies complaints

Leave a comment or ask us a question

FAQ

Do you help Aetna claimants nationwide?

We represent Aetna clients nationwide and we encourage you to contact us for a FREE immediate phone consultation with one of our experienced disability insurance attorneys.

Can you help with a Aetna disability insurance policy?

Our disability insurance lawyers help policy holders seeking short or long term disability insurance benefits from Aetna. We have helped thousands of disability insurance claimants nationwide with monthly disability benefits. With more than 40 years of disability insurance experience we have helped individuals in almost every occupation and we are familiar with the disability income policies offered by Aetna.

How do you help Aetna claimants?

Our lawyers help individuals that have either purchased a Aetna long term disability insurance policy from an insurance company or obtained short or long term disability insurance coverage as a benefit from their employer.

Our experienced lawyers can assist with Aetna:

  • ERISA and Non-ERISA Appeals of Disability Benefit Denials
  • ERISA and Non-ERISA Disability Benefit Lawsuits
  • Applying For Short or Long Term Disability Benefits
  • Daily Handling & Management of Your Disability Claim
  • Disability Insurance Lump-Sum Buyout or Settlement Negotiations

Do you work in my state?

Yes. We are a national disability insurance law firm that is available to represent you regardless of where you live in the United States. We have partner lawyers in every state and we have filed lawsuits in most federal courts nationwide. Our disability lawyers represent disability claimants at all stages of a claim for disability insurance benefits. There is nothing that our lawyers have not seen in the disability insurance world.

What are your fees?

Since we represent disability insurance claimants at different stages of a disability insurance claim we offer a variety of different fee options. We understand that claimants living on disability insurance benefits have a limited source of income; therefore we always try to work with the claimant to make our attorney fees as affordable as possible.

The three available fee options are a contingency fee agreement (no attorney fee or cost unless we make a recovery), hourly fee or fixed flat rate.

In every case we provide each client with a written fee agreement detailing the terms and conditions. We always offer a free initial phone consultation and we appreciate the opportunity to work with you in obtaining payment of your disability insurance benefits.

Do I have to come to your office to work with your law firm?

No. For purposes of efficiency and to reduce expenses for our clients we have found that 99% of our clients prefer to communicate via telephone, e-mail, fax, GoToMeeting.com sessions, or Skype. If you prefer an initial in-person meeting please let us know. A disability company will never require you to come to their office and similarly we are set up so that we handle your entire claim without the need for you to come to our office.

How can I contact you?

When you call us during normal business hours you will immediately speak with a disability attorney. We can be reached at 800-682-8331 or by email. Lawyer and staff must return all client calls same day. Client emails are usually replied to within the same business day and seem to be the preferred and most efficient method of communication for most clients.

Reviews   *****

Joy K.

I contacted Dell & Schaefer to help when UNUM disability insurance company refused to pay my claim. Cesar Gavidia took my case and helped me all the way through, negotiating a settlement that was so helpful to me in my disability. He was very supportive and kept me informed every step of the way. It made our efforts very worthwhile.

Read 424 reviews

Speak With An Attorney Now

Request a free legal consultation: Call 800-682-8331 or Email Us