Cigna Ratings & Reviews

Prior to being acquired by New York Life Insurance Company in December 2019 for $6.3 billion, Cigna was one of the top five largest group disability insurers in the US. Despite being purchased by New York Life Insurance, the same Cigna disability employees continue to manage all of the disability insurance claims. Share your review of Cigna or read about other claimant's disability benefit claim experience.

Overview of Cigna Ratings & Reviews

★★☆☆☆ Never trust anyone from Cigna!

Reviewed by Sandy on August 19, 2020

I applied for long term disability due to new and increased pain in my hands and depression getting worse. They denied my claim because they said it was a preexisting condition. I tried to explain the NEW symptoms were the reason I couldn't work but they didn't care. I've been out of work for 15 months and I can't get any financial help from them. I am still waiting for disability to be approved but it takes forever.

★☆☆☆☆ Appalled and frustrated

Reviewed by Linda M. on July 10, 2020

Another one of Cigna's STD denial numbers! So appalled and frustrated with how they are allowed to get away with it! Big business always wins!

★★★☆☆ They use delay tatics!

Reviewed by Patricia O. on June 30, 2020

Cigna insurance company doesn't try to get medical records from your doctor's office except for one fax or mailing to your doctor's office. They will not pay for the records easily. They use these delay tatics and time frames yo deny claims. I would get the records myself and pay the $25 dollars out of my own pocket for the records and make extra copies and mail them certified mail with a blue card receipt each year and they couldn't deny my claim from not getting the medical records. Cigna insurance also doesn't want to give you the life insurance policy for free when you are disabled. You have to decline the life insurance policy to make sure that you get the long term disability. They approved my LTD but were very threatening about finding jobs that they thought I could do and denying the life insurance rider. I felt like they would eventually deny my LTD claim if they had to approve the life insurance and I needed the money now and I declined the life insurance and they stopped all the harassment while I was getting LTD. So get your own medical records and mail them certified mail and pay for the copies so they don't deny you on their time frame limits. It's a shame that they can't regulate the LTD companies better. My employer also helped me by putting DEAF on the LTD form that Human resources sent in to Cigna. Plus I was already approved for SSDI at that time. So just do it yourself.

★☆☆☆☆ Unethical practices

Reviewed by Sarah on June 2nd, 2020

My complaint against Cigna is their unethical, fraudulent practices with claims. I received this letter from them. It is their standard letter to keep from paying a claim: "A claim on the above patient is delayed pending receipt of additional information from ______________ (whoever your dentist is) NO ACTION IS NECESSARY ON YOUR PART at this time. If the requested information is not received within 90 days, a copy of the ORIGINAL CLAIM WILL BE REQUIRED TO REACTIVATE THE FILE.” It continues from there about the patience dental work done. So they don't want you to do anything so they can drop your claim and it has to be started all over. I took this notice to my dentist and they had not even received the letter. 9-13-2018 is the date on notice. I took it to my dentist 9-20-2018, the day I received it. They called and gave them the information they claimed they needed. Then again on 10-3-2018, I received this same notice so I called Signa and ask to speak with a Supervisor after the person I talked to said they had all the information but the person I talked to didn't write it down. The Supervisor, Susan, said they had all my information from the very beginning, before they ever even sent the first notice. I told her “EITHER AT&T IS ACTING FRAUDULENTLY OR SOMEBODY THAT WORKS THERE NEEDS TO BE FIRED!” I belive it is AT&T, CIGNA ACTING FRAUDULENTLY! They had all my information before they ever sent me that NOTICE the first time. They were hoping I would ignore it, as that is the advise they give to do. This is a STANDARD NOTICE sent with EVERY CLAIM. No telling how many little old people read, NO ACTION NECESSARY ON YOUR PART AT THIS TIME” and take them at their word and do nothing! This needs to be further investigated and they need to be sued for this unethical practice!

★☆☆☆☆ No one answers or returns calls

Reviewed by Mary on May 23, 2020

We have been dealing with Cigna for some time now. Long story short, my husband was denied, he filed for N appeal. He was told all needed records were finally in, Cinga stated they needed an additional 45 days to the initial 30 day apeal. After over 100 days total we have not heard anything since they send the 45 day extension notice. No one answers or returns our calls. Is there a process for appeals not being responded to in the time given? We have also requested all records from Cigna several times, each time they state they will send them nothing comes.

★☆☆☆☆ They are playing with my livelihood!

Reviewed by Cory on April 12, 2020

I have Cigna LTD through my employer. I was approved and was supposed to received my money in August. I received $100 because my first agent failed to inform me I am forced to open a file with the Advocator group in order to have my payments made in full by Cigna. This was told by a new case worker the week I was issued my money. I spoke to a supervisor who issued a check and said that my original agent was new so she was making an exception. However, I must begin the process with the Advocator Group in order for my next payment to be issued correctly. I did as I was told. To this date (9/27), I have yet to receive the August check the supervisor issued (which my case manager reissued on 9/14), and my Sept payment was again $100 sent EFT. My case mgr said she didn't know why it happened and issued a check on 9/18. My bank is overdrawn, I have ruined my credit, I am accumulating late fees and overdraft fees and I still have to pay my Cobra insurance before the end of Sept, otherwise I will be cancelled and will owe for services and Rx for Sept and anything after that. I work for a very big airline and when I contacted them about the screw-ups, they contacted my case mgr who in turn made it seem like I was lying. I don't think it's fair that they are playing with my livelihood this way. Why should I sit and wait for a mailed check when they screw up? Why should I pay overdraft fees, late fees, etc that were all caused by them?!?

★★☆☆☆ Was turned off without being told

Reviewed by R.T. on March 22, 2020

Diagnosed with breast cancer (stage 3, triple negative) March 2013, I initially went on STD then moved to LTD in September of that same year. In April 2014, I went back to work (where I work as a Physicist) part-time, but I continued having a lot of trouble with neuropathy and side and back pain caused by radiation and surgery. I have attempted to increase my hours, but every increase caused a flare-up of my symptoms. I was told that the definition of my disability would do the dreaded switch from "own" to "any" occupation in September, so I braced myself. I have been aggressive in trying to find pain meds that would help me increase my hours without winding up bed-ridden from pain. (I also have 2 young daughters and am the primary wage earner for my family, so that's not really an option for me.) I heard nothing about the review, except a few notes here and there that they needed info from one or another of my doctors (I'm under the care of 3 doctors and a physical therapist). On August 18th, I sent an email to my representative and asked if everything was okay with my account. On the 19th, she replied saying that it's still under medical review. On August 31st, I sent another paystub and asked again if there was any status change on my account. I received no answer, so I tried again on September 4th. I received an email, with an attached letter, stating that my account had been closed as of August 20th. The letter (which I received in the mail a few days after this email communication) is dated August 31st. So I had been working my part-time hours for 2 weeks without knowing I was already turned off. The letter showed a complete misunderstanding about my relevant medical issues. It talked a lot about my neuropathy and never addressed the pain I'm having. Their nurse(s) never examined me, and never even spoke to me. I'm not certain if I'm more upset about being turned off or about being turned off without being told.

★★★☆☆ Good luck to all that are awaiting desicions!

Reviewed by Craig on January 14, 2020

Update to my short term disability claim. I was approved and getting 3k+ in back pay. The Coverage only goes to 27 August, and then it all starts over again. The hardest part was getting doctors to send what Cigna needed. Also, found out that just because the doctor says it was sent doesn't mean they sent what Cigna needed good luck to all that are awaiting desicions.

★★★☆☆ Shocked

Reviewed by Crystal on December 4th, 2019

I have been on Cigna long-term disability for 10 years after 4 spinal surgeries, a stroke, complicated with hypoxemic respiratory failure and chronic pain syndrome due degenerate disk disorder. But surprisingly I received a phone call today from Cigna because they needed to inform me they have just denied my claim! And I've only named off the top 4 conditions! I was shocked!! I take 9+ prescriptions every day… I'm rarely ably to leave my home. I'm going to lose my home and there is nothing I can do about it. Of course Social Security still says I am total and completely disabled. I wonder how I will pay to keep the oxygen in my home that I now can't afford to keep?

★★☆☆☆ Feeling defeated and angry

Reviewed by Mark W. on November 10, 2019

I am 50 years old. Since I started working full time in my 20s, I have kept STD and LTD insurance. Just this year I caught some kind of virus that after a week turned into constant coughing a severe fatigue. The doctor said that he had seen this turn into Pneumonia, that I should stay on bed rest for at least a week, that turned into another week. After a total time of a little more than 3 weeks, I started to rapidly feel better. During that time I slept for 12-14 hours at a time and did not feel like doing anything. My doctor sent in the proper forms, and Cigna denied the claim, so I appealed. They denied it again. I have someone at my work who has depression problems and he gets months of STD every time he feels stressed. I don't get it. They owe me $2500. Is it worth it to take them to court? If a lawyer, that they know, writes a letter, does that get them moving? I'm just feeling defeated and angry. Not sure what to do.

★★★★☆ There is hope!

Reviewed by Vickie Y. on November 1st, 2019

THERE IS HOPE! After my husband was diagnosed with Parkinson's he was able to work for 5 more years in his occupation with some accommodations: standing work station, voice recognition software, people that worked for him being trained to do parts of his job. In the 6th year after 35 years of employment where he had only 5 sick days he had to start taking one day off a week under FMLA. The pressures of the job made sleep rare and the medications were causing diminished cognitive ability. His physician started saying it was time to consider either a more reduced schedule, different job, or stopping work. We decided that taking some time off to try and get his health back on track was the best option. It worked, after 3 months he was much better and asked to return to work on a 5 day schedule 4 hours a day with the option to increase to full-time if his health was maintained on the part-time schedule. Well after 2 days working 4 hours he was back in the Dr.'s office. He continued to work 4 days a week part-time and took a lot of work home. After 120 days the employer notified him that employees in his position were required to be full-time and expected to be on call 24-7. (Nuclear Power Plant Management) He had to go on disability. They had no part-time positions. (we also learned that if he took a lower paying job his LTD would be based on that income not his average income for his career) He went on STD for the 3 weeks he had left and then was switched to LTD. After we consulted with a financial adviser we came to the decision that we could not afford to stay in the state we were living in (Iowa) and decided to move back to where our family was in PA. It's a much less expensive state to live in if your on SSI or Disability. After 1 year, due to us not knowing that we needed to make sure his physician documented his disability at every appointment no mater why we where there, CIGNA canceled his LTD shortly after he started receiving SSI (which he breezed through). We did all the research and appealed and won his LTD back. He is now at the two year point where his plan changes from his occupation to any occupation. We were just notified that his LTD has been approved past the 2 year point and he meets the definition of disability for any occupation. The fight is not over an we will not let up on having his disability documented. I make sure he sees one of his Dr's no less than every 3 months and they document his continued disability. I notify the CIGNA claim manager of every appointment and if he sees anyone new I send in the name and address. I am making sure his medical record is stacked. If you are on STD or LTD or trying to get either here are a couple things we learned: Save everything and get hard copies of every DR visit. Make sure you discuss your reasons for not working with your physician every time you see them for anything even if it has nothing to do with your visit. Research the CIGNA website to see what they say about your condition and use their words! Make sure you ask your physician to document your disability with as many objective findings that represent well-accepted tests, procedures, and examinations that are accepted as standard medical practice. (research your condition and know what to ask for) Keep your claim manager updated. (when I call now she knows who I am by first name) Anytime you go outside your home you May be under surveillance. Don't do more than you say you can. We all have good days, you don't want them seeing you doing more on that one good day. Journal, Journal, Journal everything. I use my phone to photograph him everyday and keep record of what he does. Not hard since he doesn't do much and I can't get him to go anywhere. It's exhausting but worth it in the end.

★☆☆☆☆ Only one way out for me

Reviewed by Dana on October 19, 2019

April 2014 I was diagnosed with RA. The reumatogist discovered critical labs and I was then referred to an oncologist. After bone marrow biopsy and more blood testing, I was found to have H-pylori and critical ITP. Cigna denied my claim because my doctors didn't break down my diagnosis and state how the diagnosis affected me. I filled out the forms for STD and was told no, since I was off work for now a year they would review it all together. I called in and they state they have never received documentation from all of the doctors that have “ever” treated me. I also found out my SS number was wrong in their system. I can't force a doctor to write what they want. I've lost everything, now I don't have the money to go get my weekly treatment. I don't know what to do. I'm alone and have no other means of income and now I'm losing my home. My primary will not release me to return to work at this point. I have 28 diagnosis. I feel as there is only one way out for me. I will soon be living out of my car. When I call in I hear the same thing, we haven't received anything from your Doctor. Since my initial diagnosis every Doctor I've seen has been terminated or left the medical offices. I'm lost and I don't k ow what to do. I was terminated because I was not eligible for FMLA. Now no one would hire me because I'm still under a doctors care. Any suggestion?

★★★☆☆ Went through constant obstacles with Cigna

Reviewed by John D. on October 2nd, 2019

I went through constant obstacles with Cigna for short term. It was amazing how they never receive mail or faxes. I was even told mail didn't reach them when I sent it registered or express (wonderful how it suddenly appeared).

★☆☆☆☆ Horrible company

Reviewed by Tal on October 2nd, 2019

STD was approved for surgery on March 11. I got one check covering 6 days and have been getting the run around ever since. They now owe me for 21 days pay. The caseworker assigned to me never returns calls and last week I caught her in a lie. They say they require more info from my doctor but never bothered to tell me. I happened to call for a different reason and they happen to mention that i need to have more paperwork filled out. Meanwhile I have zero income. Zero. I call every day and am met with rude workers who do not care about you in the least. Horrible company.

FAQ

Do you work in my state?

Yes. We are a national disability insurance law firm that is available to represent you regardless of where you live in the United States. We have partner lawyers in every state and we have filed lawsuits in most federal courts nationwide. Our disability lawyers represent disability claimants at all stages of a claim for disability insurance benefits. There is nothing that our lawyers have not seen in the disability insurance world.

What are your fees?

Since we represent disability insurance claimants at different stages of a disability insurance claim we offer a variety of different fee options. We understand that claimants living on disability insurance benefits have a limited source of income; therefore we always try to work with the claimant to make our attorney fees as affordable as possible.

The three available fee options are a contingency fee agreement (no attorney fee or cost unless we make a recovery), hourly fee or fixed flat rate.

In every case we provide each client with a written fee agreement detailing the terms and conditions. We always offer a free initial phone consultation and we appreciate the opportunity to work with you in obtaining payment of your disability insurance benefits.

Do I have to come to your office to work with your law firm?

No. For purposes of efficiency and to reduce expenses for our clients we have found that 99% of our clients prefer to communicate via telephone, e-mail, fax, GoToMeeting.com sessions, or Skype. If you prefer an initial in-person meeting please let us know. A disability company will never require you to come to their office and similarly we are set up so that we handle your entire claim without the need for you to come to our office.

How can I contact you?

When you call us during normal business hours you will immediately speak with a disability attorney. We can be reached at 800-682-8331 or by email. Lawyer and staff must return all client calls same day. Client emails are usually replied to within the same business day and seem to be the preferred and most efficient method of communication for most clients.

Speak With An Attorney Now

Request a free legal consultation: Call 800-682-8331 or Email Us